hey! check out this funny blog about you... http://jannawalitax.blogspot.com/I clicked on the link and it redirected to http://twitter.access-logins.com/login/. I am pretty sure that the guy who "sent" it, was already a victim and whomever hijacked his account was the person who sent me the DM.
There's no problem clicking on the link, the problem is in being fooled into thinking you must login to twitter in order to see it. But it's not twitter and so some clever people (or not really that clever) ended up with an unknown number of twitter accounts in which to perpetuate the phony "blog about you" message.
What makes this so insidious is that DM's can only come from your "trusted" network. My belief is that the hackers were going to use this in order to create a SPAM network where they could advertise via DM.
There's not a lot of personal information stored in profiles so it doesn't seem likely that they had anything more sinister in mind.
Update III: Lots of people fell for this and the phisher is using new messages. I have received many since Saturday when I first posted this with this new message:
- fixed it.. hehe here is that blog i wanted to show you
The perpetrators are apparently from China:
Domain Name : access-logins.com PunnyCode : access-logins.com Registrant: Organization : zhang xiaohu Name : zhang xiaohu Address : changningzhonghuainanlu192hao City : changning Province/State : Hunan Country : CN Postal Code : 421500 Administrative Contact: Name : zhang xiaohu Organization : zhang xiaohu Address : changningzhonghuainanlu192hao City : changning Province/State : Hunan Country : CN Postal Code : 421500 Phone Number : 86-0734-3211451 Fax : 86-0734-3211451 Email : zhangxiaohu_0098@126.com Technical Contact: Name : zhang xiaohu Organization : zhang xiaohu Address : changningzhonghuainanlu192hao City : changning Province/State : Hunan Country : CN Postal Code : 421500 Phone Number : 86-0734-3211451 Fax : 86-0734-3211451 Email : zhangxiaohu_0098@126.com Billing Contact: Name : zhang xiaohu Organization : zhang xiaohu Address : changningzhonghuainanlu192hao City : changning Province/State : Hunan Country : CN Postal Code : 421500 Phone Number : 86-0734-3211451 Fax : 86-0734-3211451 Email : zhangxiaohu_0098@126.com
Be careful out there.....
Update: I've pulled the user names. Twitter is on the case.
Update II: I *think* I may have been the first to report this at exactly 17:00. Twitter tweeted about it at 17:19 CDT, added a warning on their homepage linking here